Chatspeak and Writing Pet Peeves

“Your doing great” “It’s a gr8 day” “Hai there. How r u?”

These are all said all the time. Did you notice how they’re incorrect? Now, I will admit that I used to use the last one, but I never once did the first two, and I never will. I know that it’s something that shouldn’t be a big deal, but I see people who say that people want to read their books who have made their books using one or more of these examples in one form or another. This is something that has saddened me over the years. People try to pass off bad spelling and grammar with the idea that a good story will prevail. Most agents and publishers will ignore you completely if you don’t put effort into your book’s grammar and mechanics. It’s not a hard thing to do if you just study up and ask for help when needed. You have to actually take that help though. You can’t just ignore stories that are as bad as My Immortal that are trying to sell themselves off as good literature. I’ve seen it far too many times in the short time I’ve been alive, and it only gets more stressful.

All of this gets even worse when you’re in public chat rooms on any website from deviantART to just about anything with a chatroom as a main part of the site. I know that this feels like I’m ranting, but just follow me on this. “Lok at my buk its liek da best ting evar!” Vs. “Look at my book. It’s, like, the best thing ever!” I don’t suggest ever telling someone, but you get my point now. Grammar and spelling are very crucial to any book, and that takes a lot of work. For those who are used to writing correctly, then doing something like the bad sentence actually takes effort, while the second one is what you’re used to doing, since you do it all the time. For those who do write like my first example, I implore you to rethink what you’re doing. If you really want to get published, then it’s going to take a lot of work and patience for you to get everything the way it’s supposed to be. Now there are writers who can get away with making grammatical errors such as David Levithan. Read Will Grayson, Will Grayson for a good look at what is and isn’t allowed and how to push the limits. David Levithan worked with John Green, and you can easily tell that they have different writing styles, but that is exactly what the book was all about….or at least one of the themes I found in the book. Anyway, that’s all for now. I hope that you’ve gotten some clarity on things other than my distaste on the downfall of the English language.

Have a great day,
Jeremy

Leave a Reply

