Finding When It’s Needed

For many writers, the biggest problem faced would have to be figuring out when to take a step back from writing for a while. What’s that big deal with other people who need our attention? Don’t they know what we’re doing is more important than anything they’re doing or trying to do? That’s a good way to spend the rest of your life alone. You have plenty of time for writing, so take some extra time for other people. You want to keep on writing even though other people are with you? Then just go ahead and kill your career. Yeah. Things like that are important as a writer. People will help you out while you’re writing, but you have to show them that they are important enough to sacrifice your time. It’s not very hard to simply set your work aside. It’ll be there for you when you’re ready.

What you really need to do if find when it’s needed to write and when it’s needed to take a break. Sometimes it’s easy, like when you’re really burned out from writing. You know you can’t writer well, so you take a break and go back to it when you’ve been refreshed. Other times, it’s much harder, like when you’ve been spending too much time on your writing and other people feel left out from your life. How can you tell what they’re thinking? A good idea is to limit your writing, but even then, it doesn’t always work. People are very important. They help inspire you and make you feel important. We’re writers, we make ourselves feel emotional when needed, and it helps to have people close to us to help us when we feel depressed. Even when real depression kicks in, they’ll be there when we need them, but we have to treat them with the same respect that they’ve treated us with. It’s a hard and long process to simply write a book, so keep people close and find when it’s needed to pick up or set down your pencil/computer/typewriter.

On that note, I’m going to be taking a hiatus from my computer for a about a month and a half. I’ll be posting on my blogs a few times a week, but other than that, I’m going to be offline. I’ll still post my blog links on twitter, so other than that, I’ll be off spending time with my fiance and just enjoying my time off from writing. My return to work will be in early to mid February. I plan on working on a few flash fictions to start off then I’ll get back into my Edgeworks again. Anyway, I’ll see you all later.

One response to “Finding When It’s Needed

  1. You nailed it. Sometimes we need to take a step back for any number of reasons. The people in our lives are important, but need to be shown we feel that way. More than that, we need the feeling of connecting with these people. It nourishes both souls when there’s a connection, no matter what sort of relationship it is. I wish you well during your hiatus. My best to your fiancée and Merry Christmas – first one together in your new home?

    Take care,
    Jess

Leave a comment