Winds Of Change

A few people have asked me what Winds Of Change is about, what inspired me to do a story about the relationship between a Dari slave and her new human master. Well, in all honestly, I’ve done lots of roleplays about slavery with my closest and dearest friend. She was the first person to get me into doing stories around topics that aren’t really talked about in reality. Her and I have talked and roleplayed about slavery, politics, religion, and many other topics that quite a few people would rather force down your throat or avoid completely.

She forced me to think outside of the box, to do things that I was taught to never think up, and guess what. They made me think even more. I owe EVERYTHING to her, and to be honest, I doubt I’d be where I am today without the support that I’ve gotten from her.

Back on topic, man I get sidetracked a lot. Anyway, Winds Of Change has no real grounding on my real life. It’s not a satirical look at my past of my decisions. Rahi isn’t me in any way, shape, or form. Him and I are bound to agree on things, but he is not my platform. Neither is Vridna. Her name is simply the Dari form of Veronica. It was also influenced by Minda from The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess. Yes, I’m a geek, and I love it.

The personalities of the characters are based around aspects of the characters from the RPs that my friend and I have done over the years. I haven’t decided if I want to actually put anyone who’s exactly like any of those characters, but I got sidetracked again for a moment.

Winds Of Change is my dedication to my friend. That being said, the first of each book that is ever produced goes to her. It will be signed by me. I’d say that it’d be signed by the artist as well, but that would mean making her wait for it to ship from her to Estonia and back, and I don’t really want her to wait for each book while other people are getting them before the artist even has her book. Winds Of Change is one of my biggest projects, and it brings together over three years of stories on top of being the deepest story I’ve ever thought of.

Also, for anyone who likes symbolism, this entry was completed a few days ago. I thought I’d have it go up at the same time I started my job. ^^ Anyway, I’ll leave you all with this. Always remember those you’ve talked to, those who’ve made an impact on you the most, and those who’ve truly cared about you. They’re your greatest asset as writers and as people.

Leave a Reply

