Writing Setbacks

In everything out there, there are those who have the ability to do it, and those who don’t. Take gymnastics for example. Someone who’s missing limbs can’t really do things such as pole vaulting, so they don’t have the ability to do it, yet there are people who are missing limbs who are able to do it wonderfully.

I’m not supposed to be able to read, let alone write. I have ADHD, and as a whole, people who had it, aren’t able to sit down and read. I also have dyslexia, which means at times, I mix my letters and numbers up a lot. That’s the main reason I hated math in high school. Long numbers that I had to stare at, write down, and work with…bleh. Now, as a writer, I don’t have problems getting my stories out, yet I still have problems when I’m in a lull. I can’t write at times. My mind starts to wander even when there’s nothing for it to wander to.

Even with these troubles, I still go on to write. It may take me longer than most people, but I’ve proven that I can push myself hard enough to do things I never thought I could. I did NaNoWriMo. It almost cost me a few close relationships, but thankfully, those I love didn’t leave me when I was being an ass last November. It all paid off when I finished it. I’ve gone a long way in the months since, and I’m learning more with each day. I really should get back to posting on here, but working about 30 hours a week, working on scripts for my comics, trying to start edits on Daughter of Darkness, and keeping up with the great people in my life doesn’t leave a whole lot of time for blogging. I will try to get one update done a week.

Anyway, the point of this all is to explain that even with setbacks that make it nearly impossible to something, people will still do as they please. It’s not the setbacks that make it impossible. It’s all about how dedicated you are to it. If you’re willing to push through the impossible, even the sky isn’t a limit. There are exceptions to the exception though, but that’s life.

Leave a Reply

