Callers? What Callers?

So I’ve been taking calls for the past three days now. They predicted that we’d have 10,000 claims calls come in. We’d be needed all week. Then Irene downgraded into a tropical storm. Yeah…So that happened.

It’s not that I don’t feel bad for each person that calls in. I mean, there was one woman sounded like she was fighting back tears which made me tear up. I asked her if she was okay, and she replied honestly, saying that she wasn’t okay. I almost told her that I was going to pray for her, but I didn’t want to overstep my boundaries. There was also a man named Mr. Schwarts. He’s the one who made the reference to Space Balls. I had to laugh softly so I wasn’t yelled at, but he laughed right along with me.

I’ve had a few really good calls, and it’s been one of the most humbling experiences of my life. There were people with some serious issues that were completely fine with waiting as long as everyone was taken care of. They didn’t want anyone with worse problems waiting on their issues to be dealt with. Someone even told me, “Bless you,” which I returned right back at them. It was wonderful. Now, I have had a few people yell at me and threaten to leave the company I’m under, but I don’t really care. I mean, I’m not hired by them. I’m hired by a company that has a contract with a company that has a contract with the insurance agency. Also…I’m not going to get insurance from that company…like ever.

I get that they have a lot of work that needs to be done, but people are paying for them to do something about this, and when the agents send people to me to tell them what’s in their policy without filing their claim, I kinda want to slap the people. These agents are literally there just to accept money and direct people to the claims department. It’d make more sense to give the agents something else do or just get rid of them, since they’re just wasting money.

Sorry about that…I just don’t get why they’re being sent to people who can’t do anything for them. Half of my calls today didn’t want to file a claim until they knew they’d be covered. A job’s a job though, so I can’t really complain about where I’m at.

Anyway, I’ve been using my time to write down my thoughts on things. I think I’ll keep writing as my own personal journal. I really like that idea since it keeps my mind going while I’m just writing about my thoughts and my day. I used to have a journal, but…well that ended when I started to get wrapped up in my own life. I wasn’t stopping to take time on things that really mattered.

I lost my focus, and it really affected how I lived. Years later, I was just going downhill more and more with each day. I started to get selfish, and it took a lot of humbling to make me realize what I was doing. I’m still growing now, and I don’t plan on ever stopping. I want to be an even better man than I am now, because honestly, I’m a wreck. I put on a good face, but I’m honestly really broken. I just need to get a lot of things taken care of.

Leave a Reply

